Turkey is located at the crossroads between eastern Europe and western Asia. It borders Greece, Bulgaria, Georgia, Syria, Iraq, Iran, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia. Water borders include the Aegean Sea, Black Sea, the Sea of Marmara and Mediterranean Sea. Some quick facts about the country include:

  • Ankara is the capital of Turkey, but Istanbul is the cultural and economic hub of the country.

  • Istanbul is located in both Europe and Asia and is the only city in the world located on two continents.

  • Turkey spreads across 302,535 square miles or about two times the size of California.

  • Nearly 80 million people, or about 1% of the world’ population, live in Turkey. More than 14 million of those people live in Istanbul.

  • Turkish is the official language of Turkey and is spoken by 90% of the population. Kurdish, Arabic, Armenian, and Greek are also spoken.

  • Although Turkey has no official religion, 99% of the population is Muslim.