Spain is the third largest country in Europe following France and Germany. Spain shares the Iberian peninsula with Portugal and Gibraltar, and also shares its north-east border with France and Andorra. Some quick facts about Spain include:

  • Spanish is the official language, although a small percentage of people speak other languages like Catalan, Basque, or Galician.

  • Spain has the most diverse landscape in all Europe. The south has a desert-like climate, but the south can expect rain nearly everyday during the winter.

  • 94% of Spaniards are Catholics, even most of Spain was Muslim until the 15th century.

  • Everyone in Spain has two last names. The first is their father’s first last name, and the second is their mother’s first last name.