South Africa

The Republic of South Africa, is located at the southern tip of the African continent. It is bordered by the countries of Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Swaziland, and Lesotho. Some quick facts about South Africa include:

  • South Africa has 11 official languages.

  • In 2017, the population of South Africa was estimated at about 57 million people.

  • In 2010, the country became the first African nation to host the FIFA World Cup. (Spain is the 2010 World Cup winner.)

  • Some famous South Africans include: Nelson Mandela, Steve Biko, musician Dave Matthews, and actress Charlize Theron.