Before 1939, the country of Thailand was called Siam.

Life on this land dates back nearly 20,000 years. Thousands of years later, in the early 1200s, Siam created their first capital and began to form a strong nation.

Between 1238 and 1932, the term Siam was used to describe four different kingdoms; the Sukhothai Kingdom, the Ayutthaya Kingdom, the Thonburi Kingdom, and the Rattanakosin Kingdom. Each of these kingdoms had a different capital city.

In 1939, Siam became Thailand. This was seven years after an uprising ended the absolute rule of the king. Today, the people of Thailand have an elected government. This government includes a parliament as well as a king.

Siam is the only country in Southeast Asia that was never colonized by European forces. If you trace Thailand of today back to the beginning of the Sukhothai Kingdom, this small kingdom has been in existence for nearly 800 years.