Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prizes are given for extraordinary achievements in physics, medicine, chemistry, literature, economics, and peace work. The prizes are awarded each year on December 10th in Stockholm, Sweden.

Peace prize winners are honored for their work to promote peace around the world. South Africa has had several Nobel Peace Prize winners including: Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Nelson Mandela, and F.W. de Klerk. Other famous Nobel Peace Prize winners include: Mother Teresa, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Barack Obama.