Great Britain

Sometimes called Britain, Great Britain is Europe’s largest island. It is also the third most populated island in the world! Great Britain is made up of three countries: England, Scotland, and Wales.

The term Great Britain was first used as a nickname to describe the biggest island in the British Isles. Later, in 1474, the term Great Britain became the island’s official name, and it has since been known this way around the world.