Costa Rica

Costa Rica, officially known as the Republic of Costa Rica, is a small nation located in Central America. It shares borders with Nicaragua and Panama. To the east is the Caribbean Sea, and to the west is the Pacific Ocean. Some quick facts about Costa Rica include:

  • The population of Costa Rica is around 4.5 million. Spanish is spoken by 99% of the people!

  • Costa Rica means rich coast in Spanish. When European explorers arrived in the 16th century, they believed they would find Costa Rica rich in gold, hence the name. Unfortunately, for the Spanish, these riches were never found.

  • Costa Rica is slightly smaller than the state of West Virginia, but nearly one-quarter of the country’s land is National Parks or has been designated at protected land.

  • Costa Ricans call speed bumps son muertos, which is Spanish for dead persons.

  • In 1949, Costa Rican President Jose Figueres Ferrer signed legislation to abolish the nation’s military. Since then, the country has not had a standing military, but it does have a police force.