Central America

Central America is an isthmus, or land bridge, that connects the continents of North and South America. There are seven countries in Central America: Belize, Honduras, Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama. Despite having numerous countries, this area of this region is still less than the size of Alaska.

Approximately 42 million people populate Central America. Their heritages range from indigenous MesoAmericans to Spanish descendants. There are also ethnic minorities of African descent. The official language throughout Central America is Spanish except for in Belize, where it’s English.