Buddhism is one of oldest religions in the world. It was founded in India over 2,500 years ago by Siddhãrtha Gautama, or Buddha.

Buddhism is the fourth largest religion in the world after Christianity, Islam, and Hinduism. There are more than 300 million Buddhists worldwide. The majority of Buddhists live in Asia.

Islam, Christianity, and Judaism focus on one god. Buddhism is different because there is no god in Buddhism. The central figure in Buddhism is Buddha, who acts like a teacher to the religion’s followers.

Buddha taught people to follow eight laws. These laws are known as the Eightfold Path. The laws of the Eightfold Path include:

  • To know the truth

  • To resist evil

  • To not say anything hurtful to others

  • To respect life and morality

  • To work at a job that does not injure others

  • To try to free your mind from evil

  • To be in control of your feelings and thoughts

  • To concentrate or meditate