Belize is country in northeast Central America. It shares borders with Mexico, Guatemala, and the Caribbean Sea. It is the only Central American country where English is the official language. Some quick facts about Belize include:

  • Belize has a land area about the same size as the state of New Jersey.

  • Before 1973, the country was a British colony called British Honduras. In 1981, it became an independent country known as Belize.

  • Each year almost 2 million tourists visit Belize! Tourism is the country’s main source of income.

  • Belize is home to the first jaguar preserve in the world, the Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Sanctuary.

  • Belize is also home to one of the loudest animals in the world, the howler monkey.