Azerbaijan, or the Republic of Azerbaijan, is located at the crossroads of western Asia and eastern Europe. It shares borders with Russia, Georgia, Armenia, Iran, and the Caspian Sea. Some quick facts about the country include:

  • Baku is the capital and largest city in Azerbaijan. An estimated two million people live in the capital, which is about one-quarter of the country’s entire population.

  • The country covers roughly 87,000 sq km (or 33,000 sq miles), which is comparable in size to South Carolina.

  • Though there is no official state religion more than 95% of Azeris practice Islam.

  • Azerbaijan became part of the USSR in the 1920s. It declared independence from the collapsing Soviet Union in August 1991.

  • The country is rich in natural gas and oil. In the middle of the 19th century, the world’s first oil well was drilled near Baku.