Afrikaans is a language that evolved from the Dutch-speaking settlers who, in the 1600s, came from the Netherlands to the southern tip of Africa. Over time, these settlers adopted linguistic influences of the slaves from Malaysia, Indonesia, Madagascar, West Africa, and from southern African indigenous groups to create a one of the world’s newest languages.

Today, Afrikaans is one of South Africa’s eleven national languages and it is spoken by nearly six million people, nationwide. Afrikaans is also spoken in the neighboring country of Namibia.